Stephen Timms Of Lotte To Represent Australian Duty Free Association On APTRA Board

  • 10 March 2022


Singapore 10 March 2022 With the Australian duty free market opening up at pace, it is good timing for the Asia Pacific Travel Retail Association (APTRA) to announce the appointment of Stephen Timms to represent the Australian Duty Free Association (ADFA) on the APTRA Board. He replaces Richard Goodman who left the APTRA board in December when he took up a new role outside travel retail.

A highly experienced travel retail executive, Stephen is CEO & Director, Lotte Duty Free Oceania and a Director of Lotte Travel Retail Singapore and is based in Melbourne. He first joined the industry in 1995 with DFS and went on to serve as Managing Director DFS North America, Mid Pacific and Oceania and was Executive General Manager at JR/Duty Free for Australia and New Zealand between 2012-2018 before joining Lotte. He also has valuable experience in domestic retail in Australia.

President of APTRA, Sunil Tuli comments: “We warmly welcome Stephen to represent ADFA on the APTRA Board. His experience across Australasia and Oceania is second to none and we will benefit from his involvement in ensuring this important market is at the heart of APTRA strategy as the industry continues its recovery. On behalf of everyone at APTRA I would also like to thank Richard Goodman for his time in representing ADFA on our board, his energy and valued contribution.”

Stephen Timms adds, “I’m so pleased to be representing ADFA with APTRA and to maximize the synergies of both organisations at this pivotal time post-Covid. The Australian duty-free market is a positive place to be right now, with the gradual return of international travellers and the opportunity to rebuild our industry with a new set of omnichannel dynamics. However it also faces increasing ESG and CSR challenges around health regulation and sustainability, so there is great value for ADFA members in us being an active participant with APTRA and its excellent advocacy strategy.”

The next APTRA board election will be held in May 2023. The full APTRA board comprises:

Organisation / Represented By
Auckland International Airport – Lucy Thomas
Australian Duty Free Association – Stephen Timms
Chanel – Fabrice Hochet
Changi Airport Group – Teo Chew Hoon
Delhi Duty Free – Nuno Amaral
Distell – Luke Maga
Japan Tobacco International – Pan Har Ying – Treasurer
Kansai Airport – Stephane Geffroy
King Power – Sunil Tuli – President
Lacoste – Erin Lillis – Secretary
Lindt – Susana Hueso
Tax Free World Association – Erik Juul-Mortensen



This website uses cookies

By continuing to browse this website or by clicking “Accept”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance your site experience and for analytical purposes. Read more about our cookie policy.

Accept & Close